Paris

After Milano I ventured to Paris this Summer to do more work related activities, but perhaps you were wondering..”What does a model do in her spare time?”

“Does she eat celery and smoke copious amounts of cigarettes?”

“Does she party her incredibly small butt off at the club?”

“Does she go to fancy restaurants with major celebrities?”

“Does she go on huge shopping sprees with all the LOADS of money she has?” (HA..this one makes me laugh the most..if only..)

Well..no. I don’t do any of those things.. In my spare time you can usually find me knitting socks, watching Adventure Time, reading books, baking pie, wandering aimlessly, or laughing at my own jokes. Here’s my spare time from this Summer in beautiful Paris.

photo-25photo-27photo-22DSC_1139IMG_3955DSC_1057photo-23DSC_1141photo-28DSC_0988DSC_1036DSC_1127DSC_0014photo-26DSC_0985photo-24DSC_1142DSC_1001DSC_0002photo-29IMG_3961DSC_1103

While in Paris I rediscovered a love of mine. Growing up books were always a big part of life. My parents both read to me as a wee babe before bedtime. I have special memories of my mom reading to me as a toddler in the wooden chair in my room with a stack of Little Critter and Dr. Seuss books piled up high. I also can recall my dad reading me Harry Potter as I would fall asleep and ultimately learned how to read from those magical novels. In high school I was the kid who got in trouble for reading until 3 in the morning on a school night. And then I moved away from home and was in a bit of funk, not only with reading, but life. It’s hard to read when you’re unhappy, and to be honest, just not enjoyable. AND FINALLY this Summer I picked it up for good. I mean..of course I’ve read a book here and there in between life, but now I just can’t stand to go a day without a read.

Here’s what I managed to read in Paris..and I’m quite happy with it. I try not to rush through books…but sometimes I get in a tizzy to know what’s going to happen. If you’re a reader you know what I mean. I’m also bad for reading half of, or most of a book and then going to a different one because I just don’t like the book. I’ll finish them one day! I was also only able to find one book store in Paris, aside from the few touristy, very very VERY expensive ones, that sold books in English des livres Anglais. Therefore, the choices were a bit limited, but I enjoy classic books anyways.

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (My favorite of the group!! Mr. Rochester ❤ )

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

12 Years A Slave by Solomon Northup

3/4 of Catch 22 by Joseph Heller (I don’t know why I just can’t get through this book. It’s very clever and witty but I just don’t ever crave reading it..it’s always a chore 😦 )

1/2 of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (SO MANY DESCRIPTIONS AND POINTLESS FACTS)

Be expecting lots of books, yarn, and baking in the near future. My month in Paris was a lovely one indeed. It was very rainy, chocolatey, and cozy.

Au revoir!

Visit me on instagram!! @themenagerie

4 comments
  1. Alyssa Stringham said:

    So glad to see an update! Paris is so much fun, and very beautiful, I loved it when I went a few years ago, and I would love to go back. And those are some beautiful socks!
    I haven’t read Jane Eyre before, though I’ve read Wuthering Heights, which is by her sister. I’ll have to pick up the other one of these days.

    • Paris is so amazing. It rained pretty much the whole time I was there, but hey, everyone says Paris is most beautiful in the rain, right? I’ve been thinking of reading Wuthering Heights! Did you like it?

  2. Amelia said:

    I was just going to get really excited for a moment and say I was in Paris this summer too. It wasn’t until I actually used my head and remembered I went in April. (it was actually sunny can you believe it???)
    Anyway, did you manage to go to Shakespeare’s Book Company (I hope I remembered that name right…) it was a lovely old bookshop filled with books to th ceiling, couches and lots of cute nooks and crannies!
    Also can I ask what camera you use? All your photos are so breathtakingly stunning! They’re photos of such normal everyday things but you somehow make them absolutely amazing! 🙂

    • Amelia,
      I am so so sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier! Sometimes wordpress forgets to send me an email when I get comments! I did go to Shakespeare & Co! It’s one of my favorite places in Paris! Thanks so much for your kind words xo

Leave a Reply

