I’m Alive I Swear!

So I AM alive here, happy and functioning. Things here in Milan have just been especially hectic and today is the first day I’ve had to really sit down and do this write down. Last weekend as I was meandering around my part of town (not really sure what that is yet), looking for a grocery store, I stumbled on a fruit market. A legitimate Italian, on the weekends, people haggling and all, fruit market. The fruit arriving straight from the farms outside the city that morning. I’ve never seen such amazing produce in my life. I decided to get some, but got extremely nervous because I knew no one would speak English and it’s always embarrassing when you have to be the idiot who can’t communicate in front of a large group of Italians.

So I start picking out my cherries and I got yelled out because THEY pick out your fruit. WHAT?! I’m paying for it, so I want to pick my own. No, they are so weird about produce here. At the supermarket you have to wear plastic gloves to pick out fruit. You’re going to wash it anyways..so what’s the point, I pondered? Back to the fruit market! The man told me he had to do it. So then he really quickly scooped like an entire freaking pound of cherries in the bag. “AH THAT’S GOOD NO STOP THAT’S TOO MANY STOP OKAY!” I definitely got duped. They totally took advantage of the fact I couldn’t speak Italian and I left that market with way too many cherries for one person to eat, 8 peaches (I kid you not), and a kilo of strawberries. They scooped so fast and wouldn’t put any back and it was just frustrating ugh. But the fruit WAS amazing. Probably some of the best I’ve ever tasted.

I went home after the market and made myself a fruit lover’s breakfast.DSC_0349DSC_0350DSC_0351DSC_0360DSC_0361Greek yogurt with honey, crushed almonds. farm fresh peaches, cherries, and strawberries. YES. It was a good start to the morning as I ate it on our wonderful balcony.

After eating the breakfast of kings, I adventured out into Milano. So Milan isn’t really known for it’s beauty or sightseeing. It’s known as the fashion and banking capital of Italy, which is why Fashion Week is hosted here instead of Rome. You can literally see all of Milan’s sights in one day. And they are all within a 15 minute walk of each other. Most of the wonders of MIlan are situated in Duomo Square. Duomo Square is named after Duomo di Milano (Cathedral of Milan), which is the fifth largest cathedral in the world and took over six centuries to build. Oh wait, just kidding, they’re still not done. DSC_0364So as you can see from the above photo, the square is very abundant in tourists, and with the tourists come pickpockets and scammers. So I was walking around guarding my bag like a crazy lady, but hey..I left with all my goods. There are men walking around with pieces of string and they come up to you and try to give it to you or put it on your wrist saying “It’s good luck, free, for you, gift” blah blah but then once it’s on you they demand you pay them. They are very aggressive. You literally have to swerve and dodge them because even when you say no they still come near you and try to grab your hand. And there are guys with bird seed..same thing essentially except pigeons come and attack you. So if you go to Milan BEWARE THE STRING AND SEED, YO!

The Cathedral is beautiful and you can go inside and have a walk around, or venture up to the roof to see the spires, but unfortunately I didn’t get the memo that you’re not allowed in churches if you’re wearing short shorts or showing your shoulders. DSC_0371DSC_0377

After walking around the square for a while I walked through the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, which is one of the oldest shopping malls on Earth, and probably one of the most beautiful buildings I’ve ever been in. The Galleria is named after Vittorio Emanuele II, the first king of the Kingdom of Italy. It was built from 1865 to 1877 by Guiseppe Mengoni. I sometimes wonder why architects and contractors no longer feel the longing to design beautiful buildings like this anymore, but instead super “sleek” glass buildings that all look the same. DSC_0389DSC_0387

While I was walking around I literally ran into one of my friends from New York! Small world, eh? DSC_0384

This is my friend Caitlin ^^^ and here’s me looking awkward and oddly mom-like below.

DSC_0386Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 12.01.57 PM

I’m a full blown gelato addict. Not even kidding. I had gelato twice within a two hour span yesterday. I’ve got to cool it. COOL IT DOWN WITH MORE GELATO THAT IS. GELATO FOREVERRR. This particular flavor above is called Bacio..which is chocolate gelato with chunks of hazelnuts in it.       DSC_0394DSC_0374

Caio!!

photo-16

I’m on Instagram @themenagerie @vicasaurusrex follow me for more gelato pixxx :p

Leave a Reply

