Christmas in October

Happy first day of October! I love this month. Why? Halloween is just around the corner, Thanksgiving will be here soon, and Christmas is swiftly approaching! A holiday a month for quite some time 🙂 My family is really into holidays. LIke..REALLY into holiday frest

Every year I aspire to make all my Christmas gifts, but always end up running out of time. I either get super stressed and crochet like hell or I end up abandoning the goods and buying gifts AFTER I’ve already purchased the yarn. This year will be different! I’ve already started making Christmas presents. This past week it’s all I’ve been doing..well I’ve been working on my strawberry patch blanket, working, and apartment hunting.

Here are a few of the presents I’ve been working on. The holiday season is upon us tra la la laaaaa.

I’ve started making a few organic cotton washcloths for everyone in the family. They’re incredibly fast to work up and feel so luxurious on your skin. I figure I can do bundles of three in lots of cute colors. These are simple single crochet washcloths. I find it takes to long to make “pretty” patterened washcloths. And these are pretty and they are so simple.

Image

Last week I made the trek up to Michaels and bought a TON of cotton. I got this huge skein of Lily’s Sugar n Cream so I can make market bags for the ladies in the family.  It’s not quite done yet, but I’m loving how it’s looking so far.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Here’s a wonderful wool hat I made that’s for one of the fella’s in the family will get. I love the color so much. It’s a really great green colored wool with yellow and blue in it if you look close.

Image

You can see the color a bit better here. I asked my wonderful guy to model the hat for me, but he was having lots of allergy issues. So…he refused to let me take a picture of his face because he was all sniffly and snotty. Hence, the back of his head.

Image

He’s gonna tickle me in my sleep for this one. But I love this picture for some reason. 🙂

Image

I found a bit of time to connect a few patches to my Strawberry Patch blanket. I LUHHHVE THIS BLANKET! It is so beautiful. EEP. The only problem is that I’m running out of yarn, fast. It’s Stylecraft yarn so I can only order it online and it not only takes about 2 weeks to get here, but the site I order from is always sold out! Grrrr.

Image

Image

Snuggley, girly, cutey, goodness!!!!

Here are some pictures of my wonky fall hat, modeled by my roomie Katie.

Image

Image

I love the pom pom on this hat!! It’s so cute. The yarn is Cascade Alpaca in Arctic. This yarn is incredibly soft, warm, and light weight. I will definitely be wearing this hat everyday during winter.

Image

For the ribbing I did knit 2, purl 2. The rest of the hat was knitted on circulars, so it made stockinette stitch. Whenever I thought it was long enough I started doing decreases. The fact that I never follow a pattern or I always stray is going to come back to bite me in the butt…I can just feel it. Ha…oh well.

So much some being worked up!!! I’ll keep more coming up. 🙂 Merry October.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

