Autumn is HEREEEE!

Good Saturday everyone and Happy Yom Kippur to all those Jewish folks out there! You know what I’ve noticed lately? The air is a bit more crisp, the leaves a bit more orange, the mood a bit more excitable..why? BECAUSE IT’S FALLLLLLL! I love Autumn. It is by far my most beloved season. I just want to wear sweaters and scarves and mitts, go to high school football games, and drink apple cider until the sun comes up.

Here in the city I feel as though we get quite cheated out of Fall. At home in NC we get a good solid two months. Everyday is perfect weather. Sunny with a brisk wind. Warm during the day and snuggle weather at night. Here we get maybe two weeks. It’s fallish for a couple days then hot as hell, then fallish another day, then the next week it’s arctic tundra. Once it’s winter here, it’s winter for good.

To celebrate my favorite time of the year I wanted to do some decorating. I always get incredibly jealous of people who get to decorate their porches with pumpkins, marigolds, and hay bales. Here..I have…a door…in a hallway..I don’t even have a balcony! So I perused the holiday aisles in Michaels searching for something festive to put on our door. I’d also just like to mention that since February we’ve had a Valentines Day wreath on our door. It was time for a change, and what better than during the season of transformation!!! Back to Michaels.. most of the holiday decor was a bit..gaudy. I didn’t want to make our door look like Thanksgiving threw up and aimed straight at our apartment. I also didn’t want to spend more than $10.

So I bought a little grapevine wreath for $4.99. I knew I had lots of ribbon and yarn at home so I took advantage of that. I also wanted to make this wreath holiday/season interchangeable. So here’s the finished product.

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ SOOOOO HAPPY!

Image

I used red orange and brown yarn, red and orange ribbon, and twine. I just tied them on in a simple knot and I made a cute bow out of the twine. It’s simple and easy, cheap and can be easily changed for any season or holiday.

Here’s what it looks like hung up. I had to take the picture inside my kitchen because we have an extremely ugly door and it’s very bad lighting…not that this is much better πŸ˜›

Image

I love all the cute details of this wreath. The vine curly q’s, the different textures of the ribbons, yarns, and twine. It’s just soooo cute πŸ™‚

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Here is an ode to Autumn, North Carolina, and my amazing sister.

Image

Image

I miss home so much 😦

Instagram: themenagerie

Personal: vicasaurusrex

What I’m Listening to: 22, Taylor Swift. This song always gets me in a fantastic dancy mood πŸ™‚ Tra la laaaaaa.

2 comments
  1. Becky said:

    Hey! This is my fav time of year also. I love your wreath. Last night we went to The Village Draft House. They have a new seasonal dish with sweet potato waffle fries, honey, cinnamon, apple chunks and chopped pecans. It was out of this world. Nice welcome to fall NC dish.
    Is that your yarn bookcase? Or was that at Michael’s?
    Come home for a few days. We would love to see you.

  2. Debbie Anderson said:

    I love your wreath! Looks like fall. I also like the fall pictures of you and Lizz from last Thanksgiving. Hopefully you can rake leaves and take pictures again this yearThe weather here today is perfect fall!

Leave a Reply

