Catching Up!

Oh my lordy, I have been totally MIA as of late, but hey, it was Fashion Week. I’ve been busy out the wazoo with shows and what not, so to be totally honest, not much crocheting or knitting or baking has been going on. Whenever I can I’ve been knitting up my wonky scarf. I knit backstage at shows, on the subway, and whenever I can find a peaceful moment of knitty serenity. I’m hoping to have it done in a week so I can wear it in the crisp New York fall.

Image

Here I am knitting backstage at Custo Barcelona.

Image

Image

Image

Wonky and wonderful 🙂

Image

And here’s a better look at my lovely, soft and squishy yarn I’m using !!

Image

Today I was near my old neighborhood, so I decided to go to Michael’s and get some knitting/crocheting supplies because it’s a bit out of the way for me to normally go. Coincidentally, I had a 15% off coupon too. Happy and eager, I walked in and discovered they had renovated the entire store and broadened the ENTIRE yarn goods section. Holy bananas I was sooooo excited! Maybe I went a little crazy.. I came home with treasures galore!!!

I got four skeins of Red Heart Shimmer, which is incredibly soft and has a really nice shimmer in it, that doesn’t look tacky. I want to use it for some cutie mittens or maybe a hat.

Image

Image

I got two skeins of Caron Simply Soft in this really pretty shiny grey.

Image

Image

And I also got it in this pretty rose color. It’s all acrylic yarn, which some people hate on, but it’s soft and way easier to wash and take care of. Not to mention it’s cheap. So hates, be gone!

Image

Image

To top off the yarn I got a ball of Sugar n Cream cotton yarn in a lovely lavender color, which I hope to turn into some washcloths or maybe a potholder.

Image

I got some supplies also. I got some size ten double sided needles and some circulars. And I bought two of my favorite hooks–the Crochet Dude hooks with handles on them. I know there are lots of brands that have hooks with nice cushiony handles, however, I use Boye hooks and these have the same heads as those. I can’t use Clover or Bates..I just can’t crochet with them.

Image

Finally, I got two smaller blocking mats. I was in dire need and could no longer use my ironing board.

Image

I’m pretty sure I’m now done with shows, so I can finally be on a more consistent blogging and fiber arts schedule!! Happy week everyone 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Instagram: themenagerie

Personal: vicasaurusrex

What I’m Listening To: The Black Keys, Brothers

Leave a Reply

