Knitting Fun

Happy Humpday everyone! The week has been quite exciting, but not in the best of ways. Unfortunately, on the way out to a party, I quite absent-mindedly left my keys in my apartment (which I NEVER do). I am a subleaser and not on the “official” lease to my apartment, which is owned by a huge real estate company here in the city, so they will not let me back into my apartment. Well Victoria, call a locksmith. Well the locks and keys to my building are specially made and pretty much “unpickable”. So I am stranded. I’ve been staying with my boyfriend for the past 4 days and it is of course, right slam in the middle of fashion week castings. I bought some cheap clothes and undies to hold me over…so…here I am…

Want to hear some good news?! I have re-taken up knitting. When I was new to fiber arts I originally started with knitting. I enjoyed it, but the tension thing threw me off and I couldn’t do ribbing, so being the person who quits something when they are not immediately the best at it, I quit. I switched to crochet, loved it, made myself learn how to do it, got good at it, and now I’m back to knitting and more determined than EVER! 

Because my apartment was not accessible and I was sans yarn I went to Purl Soho, which is a lovely yarn/fabric shop in Soho. I got some needles and some amazing yarn I have been eyeing for the longest time. It’s Cascade Baby Alpaca Chunky in Arctic. My camera is also in my apartment so please excuse the iPhone photos 🙂

Image

I decided to make a scarf of it since Autumn is swiftly approaching. I did 5 knit stitches one each side of the stocknitte stitch to flatten it out. My scarf is all wonky and the tension is off but I don’t care. I love it.  It adds character. 

Image

 

Image

Speaking of Fall…IT IS ALMOST HERE!!! Autumn is my favorite season and I can already feel the crisp air a’ comin. To celebrate Almost Fall I got a Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks. Another sign my favorite season is almost upon us!

Image

I have been thoroughly enjoying making my wonky scarf. Knitting does allow a nice break for my wrists, which go through a bit of hell with crocheting. I’m very excited about knitting possibilities! 

 

I also made a carrot cake recently that turned out disastrously. More on that later. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

