Peach Cobbler

Peaches are one of the best fruits of Summer. I might even say they are my favorite fruit ever, but I can tell you one thing, I adore peach cobbler.

Image

I’ve made peach cobbler several times and every time I make it, it gets better and better. However, this one did not turn out to be the case. It would have been PERFECT had I not left out one crucial ingredient. When making the biscuit topping I made two batches..and the first batch I left out the baking powder!!!!!! ARGH ARGH A;LDKFA;LDFK;AD. So basically it did not rise and it did not cook and half of the cobbler was a goopy doughy mess. The insides were still incredibly delicious though!

Image

 I bought 5 pounds of peaches even though the recipe only calls for 2 because last time I made it, I felt it needed more peachy goodness!!! I didn’t exactly feel inclined to hand peel 5 pounds of peaches so here’s what I did–In each peach I cut an X into the bottom.

Image

With my brand new pretty teal paring knife from Whisk!!!

Image

 

After I cut an X into the bottom I put all the peaches in a pot of boiling water for 1 minute. After the minute is up, they are transferred to an ice bath for a couple minutes.

Image

Then starting at the X use the side of your thumb to just gently peel away the skin! So easy!! The riper the peaches the better this works, so if your peaches are not ripe this will be a waste of time. I recommend always using EXTRA ripe peaches for peach cobbler!!

Here are the bald slippery peaches! I loved the bright color. My boyfriend even helped me peel them.

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

And here it is all baked up. You can see the first batch all unbaked and the second batch nice and browned up. Whoops.

Image

Image

Image

Though a bit of an uncooked mess, it was still delicious. I wanted to post this even though it didn’t turn out perfect because cooking isn’t about it being pretty or being perfect every time. It’s about learning from mistakes and figuring out how to improve–much like life!!!

 

Leave a Reply

