Pecan Pie

I LOVE PIE. I love making it and eating it and looking at it…sigh… My favorite pie is pecan, and let me tell you, I can make a pretty mean pecan pie.

Image

 

There is a restaurant in Chapel Hill, North Carolina called Mama Dip’s that we used to go to before every football game (GO HEELS!) This place is quintessential homecooked, southern comfort food. They have fried chicken, Brunswick stew, pulled pork vinegary bbq, pecan pie, and any other amazing unhealthy food you can think of. Mama Dip has a book of recipes, which my family uses for their pecan pie. This is the recipe I BASE my recipe on. I’ve made some adaptations, but let me tell you, I’ve had the pie at Mama Dips and it is gewd.

 

 I made the pie because it was our friend Zac’s 20th birthday  and he had never had one of my pies before. Pecan is my specialty also. So I made up the pie and 10 minutes before it came out of the oven I had 10 people guys over asking where the pie was. So when it came out of the oven I didn’t have very much time to get pictures, so they’re not the best. My apologies. But even I was itching to get a piece. 🙂

Image

 

Image

 

Okay, so here we go..

 

Ingredients:

1 stick of butter

1 cup of white sugar

1/2 cup dark karo

1/2 cup light karo

3 eggs beaten

1 cup of chopped pecans (or more!!!!)

1 unbaked pie shell, whichever recipe you prefer

 

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. In a saucepan melt the butter, but be careful not to let it brown.

Image

 

Also please note my cute spatula!

Image

 

Mix in the sugar and Karo and cook, stirring every so often, over medium heat until the sugar dissolves.

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Take the mixture off the burner and allow to slightly cool just for a few minutes. Stir in the eggs and mix well.

Image

Then stir in the chopped pecans and stir around making sure the pecans are coated in the mixture. It makes for a crispy top!

Image

Image

 

Pour into the pie shell and bake for an hour! I like to cover the edges of my pie crust with foil for the first 30 minutes of baking, otherwise they always burn, so it’s up to you whether or not you want to do that.

 

Another note, I did make my own pie crust, but I’m still working on getting it right and I’m a bit self conscience of it..I feel like I’m not too good at it, so maybe later I’ll post a recipe for that!

But let’s have a moment for the pie crust. ha! 🙂

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Let it stand for 30 min-to an hour so that the center sets up.

 

And here it is..and like I said..I got like two pictures of it before it was devoured.

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Yum YUM!

 

Image

And here is the view from my window this morning at 5 am when I couldn’t sleep!

 

Until next time 🙂

3 comments
  1. Emma said:

    That looks delicious 🙂 Question – what is karo? I don’t think we have it here in the UK. x

  2. I’m officially embarrassed by my past attempts at… “pie.”

Leave a Reply

