Roasted Southwestern Spaghetti Squash Boats and Steak!

I just wanted to take a few minutes to talk about food, cooking, and to show off my food pictures :).

I love recipes, however, I use them more as guidelines rather than a written in stone recipe. Many times I’ll be perusing recipes and I have MOST of the ingredients..not all of them, in which case I improvise. I love love love improvising. This is where you can get creative with cooking and where I have the most fun. It took me a couple years of adding a dash of this and a dash of that to learn how to improvise, but believe me you, it is the most handy of handy skills in the kitchen. It, for me, is usually what turns a dish from good to great. I highly recommend you start experimenting with spices and herbs and finding out what you like and don’t like and which flavors go together. My mom also told me growing up that the best cooks know how to improvise. My dad always said it was one who was tidy..if that’s the case I’m screwed. :p

Like I’ve said before, my boyfriend, Daniel, and I are trying to eat healthier and with less gluten. So, having that said, I whipped up this meal which was fantastic.

Image

We had roasted southwestern spaghetti squash boats. Yurrrrrmmmmm. It’s healthy and totally improvised. Yeyuh! I roasted a spaghetti squash in the oven, and meanwhile cooked ground beef with peppers, black beans, corn, garlic, onion, chili powder, cumin, and salt on the stove. then scraped all the sketti out of the squash. I mixed it all together and put it back in the squash, topped with cheese and that was that. This meal is very improvision-friendly. You could add salsa or tomatoes or throw some gauc on top, or skip the beef and make it veggie friendly. I know some of you are like “beef is not healthy, it’s red meat blah blah and you have cheese blah blah”. Red meat, beef included, is high in iron, which most women lack, The heme iron in red meat is easily absorbed by the body. Red meat also has vitamin B12, which helps make DNA and keeps nerve and red blood cells healthy, and zinc, which keeps the immune system working properly. Some people are freaking saying red meat causes cancer and heart disease but everything is fine in moderation. It’s all about portions people! I love red meat..so I had to stand up for it. And as for the cheese..it’s a sprinkle, so deal.

Image

 

Image

Seriously, this meal was so easy to cook up, healthy, and incredibly delicious. I was inspired by all the “stuffed spaghetti squash” dishes, and the ingredients I happened to have, which were all tex-mexy.

And here are some photos from dinner the other night I just wanted to show off. Daniel brought home a flank steak so I ventured out to learn how to cook it. He was also my kitchen helper for the night. 🙂

Image

Upon googling “how to cook flank steak” this article helped the most. I seasoned it only with salt, pepper, and butter, and I cooked it in a regular non stick pan. So if you don’t have a cast iron skillet have no fear. I cooked the steak less time than the instructions said because I always always ALWAYS manage to overcook steak. I DO NOT like medium, or anything above that, cooked steaks. It’s like chewing on shoe leather as my father says.

Image

 

Here’s the finished product. OHHHHHH yum. Butter is not healthy, but we were having steak and that doesn’t happen to often around here so we went all out. Ha! BUTTER FO LIFE!

We also had a ton of veggies.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

And of course even though I cooked it less time than the instructions said, I STILL overcooked it. It was still excellent though, so no complaints!!

Image

 

Have fun improvising!!!

Leave a Reply

