German Chocolate Cake

For the past week or so my boyfriend and I have been trying our darndest to eat gluten free. We both are pretty sure we have an intolerance to it, many of my family members have Celiac. Anywho, I’ve been having terrible terrible cravings for sweets..chocolate sweets, fruity sweets, cookies, brownies, cake..anything! So I decided to tackle something I’ve never baked before.

Image

My little New York apartment baking nook.

 

I was perusing my American Test Kitchen cookbook (thanks Dad!) and saw it. German Chocolate Cake. Growing up my grandmother’s claim to fame was her German Chocolate cake, unfortunately I’ve never had one though. I’ve never been a fan of nuts or coconut until about…a year ago. So I’ve just never had one and thought, “THIS IS IT!! This is what I must bake!!!” It was incredibly dramatic and sun came and shone down on the cookbook and I knew the baking gods were blessing me.

Image

 

Firstly, I had to make the filling. You heat up sugar and butter, then add coconut. LET ME TELL YOU, this is literally one of the most amazing things I’ve ever tasted.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

LOOK AT IT!

The recipe calls to chill the filling for a day (you add the pecans just before cake assembly) and I almost got a spoon and just ate the bowl right then and there. This yellow stuff is heaven. I wanted to put it on pretzels, and make a pie out of it, and put it in croissants. But I remained vigilant. I put it the fridge and let it chill. Sigh…if only.

Fast forward two days (had a job yesterday so I couldn’t make it) and I commenced the cake making. This cake was one of the most difficult cakes I have ever made, but it was well worth it.

So I got to making the chocolatey part and I ran into a speed bump. The recipe called to chop up the chocolate, easy, then to add the cocoa powder, okay nothing odd here, and then it said to add boiling water to it to melt the chocolate. I’ve never heard of anyone doing this and all I could think is that it was going to burn the chocolate. But, alas, I tried it anyways. And it did not work..at. all. At first I thought I had for sure burned the chocolate. It was hard to stir and not shiny at all, and very grainy.

Image

Before..super grainy and yuck.

 

I was really bummed because I only had enough cocoa to make it once. But I brainstormed anyways. I added some milk, threw it in the microwave for 10 second increments and stirred for my life. All was well and I stopped freaking out. HA! Has anyone ever heard of this weird method? I’ll never be using it again.

Image

Shiny and wonderful!

 

 

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

ANDDDD HERE IT IS!

 

Image

 

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Sidenote- I bought this cake stand today at William Sonoma on sale for $20! Talk about luck.

 

The cake tasted amazzzzing and I’m so proud of it! The ffort was well worth it, as was the gluten. I definitely recommend this recipe..minus the chocolate melting method.

Did I mention this cake was super delicious?

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

